rdiff-backup, Python and Ubuntu.

I’ve been using rdiff-backup for quite a long time now for my backup purposses. rdiff-backup allows me to have my /home folder always in sync with an external usb hard drive. If for some reason I have to re-install operating system, it is just a question of 15 minutes of time; the time it takes to wipe the hard disk and put a Linux distro in it again. Ubuntu has been my main OS at work and at home for some years now. Before, I was a user of Debian and Fedora. For development purposes, Ubuntu gives unparalleled performance and tools. Saying that it is just a Debian operating system says it all, period. I develop in Python at work and for fun. Ubuntu is a great platform to develop in Python as it has most of the modules and packages in the official repositories, so it is just a question of apt-get them; as simple as that. Testing web apps in localhost is just awesome, and not to say having PostgreSQL or MySQL; again just apt-get them. Once you have practice with using VIM (or Emacs) and Test driven development ( a joy in Python ), you’ll be incredibly productive writing software in few time. To finish, most of my favourite apps in Linux are written in Python: Meld, Terminator, Log4tailer, Quodlibet or the same rdiff-backup just to name some of them.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in General Blogging, Linux, Open Source, Python, Ubuntu Linux and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

