Sound in Amarok 2.0.2 and Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04

I really like Amarok, but apparently in Ubuntu 9.04 Gnome as a Desktop, when installing amarok it does not play sound at all. After some investigation, apparently amarok uses Phonon and you need to make sure you have the xine phonon backend. But that apparently is not enough. Installing xine-console solves the problem. I’ve read that installing xine-ui solves the problem as well.

Although I love the simplicity of Gnome, there are some Kde applications that simply rock, name it:

  • Amarok
  • Kile
  • and Kopete, that apparently it has video built in, something that pidgin has not yet.

Yes, you can have Gnome Desktop and use Kde applications.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in HOWTOs, Linux, Open Source. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sound in Amarok 2.0.2 and Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04

  1. Lefty says:

    When trying to play a file I couldn’t listen to any music! I checked my system’s sound configuration and it all seemed OK. I was able to play the files on other multimedia players, listen to music on Firefox, etc.

    To solve the problem, all I needed to do was download and install two additional packages: libxine1-ffmpeg and phonon-backend-xine ( in most cases phonon will be already installed ).You can find these on Synaptic, or just type in the Terminal:

    $ sudo apt-get install libxine1-ffmpeg phonon-backend-xine

    Now Amarok2 is working like a charm!

  2. MarkoSisak says:

    Hi,

    thank you a lot for this!…I upgraded my ubuntu from 8.4 and couldn’t make amarok play files and after installing this it works like a charm.

    Great post, thank you 😀

    Best regards

  3. Chanaka says:

    Hi…

    Thank you very much men.. It worked well..

  4. Thank you! Never thought the solution is so simple!

  5. Andrew Harvey says:

    I had to reboot.

  6. Donald says:

    Worked after reboot although playback skips forward about a half sec. on occasion (anyone know how to fix this?)

  7. Ric Moore says:

    In a java application I’m using it is faulting out looking for plughw0,0. Is this due to phonon and what is a fix?? My USB headphones are not coming up either. I’m running karmic kubuntu using x86 platform. Thanx! Ric

  8. Alexisr says:

    Tnks man !!! You solved my problem 😀

  9. kamek says:

    thanks for the help!

    Installing libxine1-ffmpeg and phonon-backend-xine solved my audio problem 🙂

  10. Glenn says:

    Thanks! libxine1-ffmpeg was all I needed to get Amarok working on my system (ubuntu 9.04) as well.

  11. YUDIE says:

    WOOOW THANKS IT’S SO SIMPLE GOOD JOB, I HAVE BEEN SEARCH IN GOOGLE AND THIS IS THE BEST SOLUTION

  12. Dave says:

    Thank you! I really wanted to get this working and your simple post did a great job.

  13. Rishi says:

    thanx a lot dude … now its working 🙂

  14. Funky Weasel says:

    This solved the issue, but I am surprised there was no dependancy declared when I installed from synaptic. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

