Log4tailer, tailing your logs in multicolor

I’ve been hacking recently a lot with Python in my spare time, and to be honest, it is very powerful, lots of fun, and object oriented. It allows me to quickly transform my thinking into real code and python incredible and huge standard library helps a lot. One of the projects I’ve been hacking is log4tailer. Log4tailer is a multicolored python tailer for log4j formatted logs. If your job requires tailing logs every now and again, then you will feel the frustration I’ve had multiple times when using the linux command line “tail”. I began using launchpad and bazaar version control system to code log4tailer, but I just decided to use googlecode as I feel much more comfortable using subversion. The link to log4tailer is http://code.google.com/p/log4tailer/ and an image:

tailer

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in Open Source, programming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

