HOWTO: Firefox and the RealPlayer Plugin in Ubuntu Edgy Eft

When you install RealPlayer in Ubuntu Edgy Eft, it will install not only the player but also the firefox plugins. There’s a problem, though. Firefox is preconfigured to play real audio streams with totem. To use the real player plugin you must remove the totem plugin responsible to play these real audio streams. Just go to the firefox plugins directory located on:

/usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins

and remove

libtotem-complex-plugin.so

libtotem-complex-plugin.xpt

type:

sudo rm libtotem-complex-plugin.*

and happy listening with realplayer plugin for Firefox 2

Note:

You can see why totem is responsible to play realaudio streams by typiing in the firefox url bar:

about:plugins

and if you try to play any real audio stream by means of firefox plugins, firefox will try to open totem and totem will complain saying that it can’t open a stream via the rstp protocol.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in HOWTOs, Ubuntu Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to HOWTO: Firefox and the RealPlayer Plugin in Ubuntu Edgy Eft

  1. Ambati Srinivas says:

    Thank you so much for this solution, I tried every trick in so many ways to play songs from http://www.telugubiz.net but could never play songs as it was a challenge for me as I could play on windows and why not on Linux but ultimatly gave up thinking Linux still has to mature.

    But I am so happy after deleting those two files and able to play songs.

    Thanks a ton.
    Ambati Srinivas

  2. Pingback: video sous Firefox: help ! at JS Blog, Lausanne

  3. Ronald says:

    Hi,

    good tip.

    But what happens if an update of Totem(-plugin) is installed via the apt-update-tool?

    Cheers, Ronald

  4. Rogo says:

    I am searching already a few hours to get the real player in firefox. Those files are not there to remove! And I can’t even play *.mpg with it. I can’t install M-player. How nasty!

  5. Thomas says:

    Thanks a lot for that tip! Works well.

  6. Tim says:

    Thank you so much. As a linux newbie, I was not sure what to do. I had a suspicion it was to do with the Totem plugin but I did not know how to remove them.

    It is so simple when you know how. I am now happily listening to the BBC Radio Player.

    Cheers, Tim.

  7. Allan says:

    I stumbled over these posts when looking for solutions to my problem,

    Given the obvious knowledge expressed I thought I might do well to pose my problem here!

    I can only use the BBC’s Radio Player to “listen live” with Real Player. Trying to start an archived file results in the message “Stopped” immediately under the start icon.

    This apparently isn’t a Totem problem, the mentioned files aren’t there.

    I guess I must be missing a plug in or it’s in the wrong place or something.

    Help desperately sought and graciously received …

    Allan

  8. Pingback: Ubuntu on Thinkpad X41 - Installing Multimedia Components « SOS

  9. Sojourner says:

    Forgive this newbie question… the totem plug-ins are locked; I do not have permission to delete them. When I try to change permission status by alt-clicking on them, I am not given the option of “owning” them. What next?

    On a similar matter… is there firefox plug-in manager software for edgy out there? It would sure be useful…

    Thanks,

    S

  10. It would be simpler and more robust to remove the totem-mozilla package, rather than manaully deleting its files.

  11. Skinny says:

    Didn’t work on mine. Hmmm

  12. lepenguin says:

    Hi !

    Do you know how to install libtotem-complex-plugin.so and libtotem-complex-plugin.xpt ? Which package may I apt-get to get this plugin under Ubuntu Feisty ? I’m in trouble with that.

    Thanks !

  13. Ajit PCMind says:

    hi all,
    this three command when you use then your realplayer is installed in ubuntu.

    real-player version is 11 (it is a latest version)

    1) wget http://www.real.com/realcom/R?href=http://forms.real.com/real/player/download.html?f=unix/RealPlayer11GOLD.bin

    then, in terminal go to the directory where you download the file,make the .bin file executable by command:

    2) chmod a+x RealPlayer11GOLD.bin

    execute command:

    3) sudo ./RealPlayer11GOLD.bin

  14. Deanna says:

    Hello, after reading this remarkable paragraph i am also delighted to share my knowledge here with friends.

  15. I think this is one of the most important info for me. And i am glad reading your article.
    But wanna remark on few general things, The site style is great, the articles is really nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

  16. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all
    of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to
    write content for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome web log!

  17. I seldom leave comments, however i did a few searching
    and wound up here HOWTO: Firefox and the RealPlayer Plugin in
    Ubuntu Edgy Eft | A Linux Geek wandering around.
    And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you
    don’t mind. Could it be only me or does it seem like some of these responses appear as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online sites, I would like to follow everything new you have to post. Would you list of every one of your community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  18. Pingback: video sous Firefox: help ! | JS Blog

  19. Hello would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different
    web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

