I’ve failed the Proficiency in English exam

Today for me is a disappointing day. I’ve failed the Certificate of Proficiency in English exam from Cambridge. So, I’ll have to study a lot more of English 😦 It’s the first time I fail a Cambridge exam. What a sad news for me.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve failed the Proficiency in English exam

  1. No Wonder says:

    No wonder you failed your english proficiency. ‘What a sad news for me…’ should be, ‘This is really sad news for me’ or ‘This news makes me very sad.’ You have also forgotten the past participle on ‘Fail’, presuming you have taken the exam, you would of ‘Failed’. ‘Today for me is a disappointing day.’ Should be ‘Today is a dissappointing day for me.’ You can say you will study alot more of English, but it sounds ungrammatical. Take out the “of”, ‘So, I’ll have to study a lot more English.’ With these tips and your extra study, you should pass your next exam with flying colours. Good Luck! 😉

  2. JetPack65 says:

    Er, sorry but…

    “You have also forgotten the past participle on ‘Fail’, presuming you have taken the exam, you would of ‘Failed’.”

    … needs to be corrected.

    “…you would *have* ‘Failed’.”

    It only sounds like “of” because “have” is often concatenated as “‘ve” on the end of words like “should” or “would”. E.g. “should’ve”.

    Lastly, “So, I’ll have to study a lot more English.” should really be “So, I’ll have to study English a lot more”. This is because the adjective “study” is the thing you’re doing more of and the subject “English” is just *what* you’re studying. It wasn’t even necessary to specify the subject – it could’ve just been, “So, I’ll have to study a lot more”.

    Better luck with your next exam.

  3. Dr. iggi says:

    What a disgrace! suicide? is there any blog or site where to cry out or even critize the oral … (not sexually, eh?) thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

