Search Engines, which is the best?

I’ve been testing gnome-search-tool, Beagle and Tracker in Ubuntu. Till now, I’ve been using Beagle, but every now and then it ends up consuming all your cpu and you have to redo your /home/username/.beagle folder, by deleting it and launching the beagle daemon again. Lately, I’ve experienced issues about ram consumption as well. Sick of beagle, I have given Tracker a try. It consumes less ram as it is being developed in C, but it is the same as beagle, it does not give me a lot of power. At the end, I’ve gone back using the gnome-search-tool within nautilus and gnome-search-tool as a standalone app. Incredibly, it is as fast as Beagle and Tracker searching your files. Take into account, that gnome-search-tool is based on the “find” command and “find” is quite powerful and fast. It allows you to search specific folders, a thing that Beagle and Tracker are not able to do. Summing up, it is true that gnome-search-tool does not take into account meta data, but is as fast as Beagle and Tracker and it does not consume your computer resources. I’ll go with gnome-search-tool, find and locate for a long time.

PD. If you were using Beagle, and want to go back using the default nautilus searching engine (gnome-search-tool) you have to remove beagle from your computer and remove the /home/username/.beagle folder. If the .beagle folder exists, nautilus will try to use the beagle search engine.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in Ubuntu Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Search Engines, which is the best?

  1. Sohail Mirza says:

    Oh boy, this is precisely what I was looking for.

    Removing Beagle was one of the best things I’ve done throughout my (relatively new) Ubuntu experience. I installed it in the hopes of having a powerful desktop search tool, but it’s limitations are too many and too severe.

    Being unable to search within a specific folder is simply a deal-breaker for me. It’s trivial to do in Windows, and for a while I was thinking Ubuntu simply wasn’t able to do the same, until I found this post and found that it was a Beagle limitation.

    I’d been wanting to remove Beagle anyways due to its frequent 100% CPU usage, and this searching-within-folders issue gave mthe impetus to finally do so.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

