installing flash player in dapper drake

If you want to install the flash plugin for firefox take into account that you should install the libflash-mozplugin package from synaptic. I have experienced a problem though. By installing the mentioned package, when I open a web page with macromedia content, firefox crashes. It just goes away. To work around this issue, I have desinstalled the mentioned package and I have downloaded the one provided by macromedia itself. Once I have downloaded the packaged named install_flash_player_7_linux.tar.gz, I have proceded like follows: tar -xzvf install_flash_player_7_linux.tar.gz then cd into it and sudo ./flashplayer-installer and when it says the installation path I have entered /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox (previously I have accepted all the questions by default). Open firefox again, and voila, it works like a charm!! Important: Firefox must be closed when installing the plugin. The installer warns you in case.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in Ubuntu Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

