Suse and Windows Vista

The last two days I’ve been trying a linux distribution that because for one thing and another I hadn’t had time to give it a try. This distribution is Suse. Suse is very nice polished, with a professional kde look and feel. You can see that a big company is behind this distro. Novell. Nothing to say. The main problem is that I tried the open source project of suse, which is opensuse. I’ve had several problems, mainly with sound and mp3 files. I haven’t been able to make amarok and xmms play mp3 files. That’s what I don’t like from linux. The easiest things, like playing mp3 files, should be easy to configure, and not difficult or impossible. In any case, every linux distro I’ve tried has it’s pros and cons, and one must weigh them up, and see if it’s possible to have an operating system that can be a real alternative to Microsoft.
This year Windows Vista will be released. I’ve seen the specs from the windowsvista web site, and I’m truly amazed. Windows Vista will come with lots of bells and whistles and to be sincere are awesome. Although being a Linux enthusiast, I’m thrilling about the next release of windows, and what will be able to do. Let’s await and see.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in General Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

