Ubuntu Maverick not a perfect 10, but nearly.

I say that because I’ve found at least a couple of issues that I didn’t find in Lucid. First one is the Intel IPS thermal kernel messages that don’t stop shouting at /var/log/messages. Traces like “MCP power or thermal limit exceeded” are showing up every 2 seconds, which is kind of really annoying to say the least. That module was activated (as far as I’ve investigated) in the Maverick release, so in order to avoid you logs growing fast, you can disable that by doing the following:

  • Edit file /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
  • Add at the end of the file blacklist intel_ips
  • Save file and restart.

After restart, if you tail /var/log/messages you should not see that log trace again.

The second issue that I’ve found, and I haven’t been able to solve is the wifi. I used to have a propietary driver Broadcom STA available to be installed from the same Ubuntu, but it seems that it has been removed. I haven’t had time yet to investigate that, so hopefully we will find some workaround soon.

About jordilin

I'm a Senior Software Engineer with an MSc in Telecommunications Engineering. I've got a range of interests including Linux, a very powerful and limitless operating system, travelling, gastronomy and technology.
This entry was posted in HOWTOs, Linux, Ubuntu Linux and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ubuntu Maverick not a perfect 10, but nearly.

  1. xdanx says:

    Thx a lot mate!
    I was searching for a solution for about 3-4 days, but I didn’t reach you until now, when I searched for “ubuntu configure thermal limit” , and now it works ok.

    Thx a lot mate, and keep up the good work.

  2. Venkatesh says:

    Thanks a lot ..
    I was looking for this solution from 4 days .. You made my day.

    Thanks

  3. Phil says:

    Same here (about researching this issue), couldn’t find proper answers until I ended on your post.

    Well done! It did solve my performance issue (on my laptop) in a big way.
    Thanks!

    Environment:
    HW: HP DV6-3038
    SW: Ubuntu 10.10 64bit Edition

  4. khalil says:

    during installaion Intel IPS thermal kernel messages and mcp power limit messages are displayed and installation terminates please send me solution
    os=linuxmint
    sony vaio laptop
    4gb ram
    intel i3 processor

Leave a Reply

